Retro, Modern & Homebrew Game Reviews

retro game reviews
Modern retro remake game reviews
Brand new homebrew and indie game reviews
Retro hardware and accessories reviews
 

Take RetroCollect's advice and you'll be in gaming heaven. Our team of retro gamers are always busy reviewing the latest retro remakes, homebrew titles for classic systems and even modern titles we consider retro - keeping you in the know about what titles you really need to own.

Retro Review: Gabriel Knight 2: The Beast Within (PC)

Retro-Review-Gabriel-Knight-2-The-Beast-Within-PC

In a bid to expand my knowledge of adventure gaming, I decided to deviate from my usual LucasArts and Revolution Software libraries and opted for something by Sierra instead, from a wealth of titles, I decided to give the legendary Gabriel Knight series a play through, what an excellent choice that was. 

Last Updated ( 03 January 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Dizzy Prince of the Yolkfolk HD Remake (Android and Apple iOS Devices)

Modern-Review-Dizzy-Prince-of-the-Yolkfolk-HD-Remake-Android-and-Apple-iOS-Devices

Twenty years ago, Codemasters granted the British gaming superstar Dizzy his sixth adventure- Prince of the Yolkfolk. Hoping to bring this long lost treasure to modern audiences, a HD remake of the 1991 classic recently arrived on Apple iOS and Android devices, but how does it compare to the original?

Last Updated ( 11 December 2011 )
 

Retro Review - Condemned: Criminal Origins (PC)

1198895353-00

Gaming is full of dark and creepy titles. From Alone in the Dark to Resident Evil and Dead Space, we're not without our choice pants messing games. One title, however, decided to go a slightly different rout, bringing you close and personal with horror.

Last Updated ( 08 December 2011 )
 

Modern Review: Neo Geo Heroes - Ultimate Shooting (Sony Playstation Portable)

You don't often completely forget a video game exists, but that's exactly what happened with Neo Geo Heroes - Ultimate Shooting. We only remembered it even got translated after finding it by mistake for the PSP in the Playstation Store- let's find out if we forgot about it for a reason!

Last Updated ( 30 November 2011 )
 

Retro Review: Broken Sword 3 The Sleeping Dragon (PC/PS2/Xbox)

Retro-Review-Broken-Sword-3-The-Sleeping-Dragon-PC-PlayStation-2-Microsoft-Xbox

Having recently completed the first two games in the Broken Sword series, I decided to re-join George and Nicole for their next adventure. Was it an exciting adventure across the globe or a miserable wet weekend in a run-down seaside town?

Last Updated ( 28 November 2011 )
 

Modern Review: Splatterhouse (Microsoft Xbox 360/Sony Playstation 3)

Happy Halloween, RetroCollect! In 2010, after a whopping 17 years in video game limbo, the Splatterhouse series made its return... And was promptly ignored by anyone who hadn't played the originals. Did it deserve such a terrible fate? It's time to put the Terror Mask back on...
Last Updated ( 31 October 2011 )
 

Review: SpeedLink Competition Pro USB (Inc 99 Best Of C64 Classix)

Review-SpeedLink-Competition-Pro-USB-Box

If there was ever an instantly recognisable and iconic joystick which countless home computer gamers fondly adored, it was the Competition Pro Joystick. Fast forward a few decades and this legendary peripheral is back, bundled with a selection of Commodore 64 games on disc. RetroCollect dives into the deep end with an expansive review.

Last Updated ( 13 October 2011 )
 

Modern Review: Prince of Persia 2008 (PC)

PrinceofPersiaPC654_f

You can picture the meeting at Ubi Soft. Prince of Persia: Sands of Time and it's sequels had been a huge hit for the company. They were looking to expand the Prince of Persia brand. However, rather than continue with a winning formula, they decided, in their wisdom, to scrap everything and start again...

 

Last Updated ( 05 October 2011 )
 

Indie Review: Blocks That Matter (PC)

indie-review-blocks-that-matter-pc

Take two French blokes who used to work at Ubisoft, add a dash of Tetris, mix in some great gameplay with platforms and a cute robot that looks like a washing machine, garnish with a hint of Minecraft and serve hot. Is this a recipe for a good game?

Last Updated ( 26 September 2011 )
 

Retro Review: Rescue on Fractalus Atari 800/800XL/130XE

Rescue_on_Fractalus_cover

A craggy inhospitable landscape, a thick corrosive atmosphere, bad tempered and deadly inhabitants who will go all out to kill you while you attempt a daring, hot drop rescue and save as many of your fellow pilots as you can. All in a days work when you take to the skies of Fractalus. Can this excitement fit into 48K? Is it possible?

Last Updated ( 19 September 2011 )
 

Retro Review: Championship Manager Season 01/02 (PC)

Retro-Review-Championship-Manager-Season-01-02-PC

Ssshhh, don’t tell the boss but whilst things have been a little quiet at work, me and a fellow colleague have been entertaining ourselves during our lunch breaks with a network game of the classic football management game, Championship Manager Season 01/02. And what fun we have had!

Last Updated ( 22 August 2011 )
 
Page 13 of 18
Banner
Banner

Retro Game Database Search

Retro Gaming Podcast

Join the RetroCollect Squad as they discuss our gaming past in the all new RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast.


Retro Games on eBay now



About RetroCollect

RetroCollect is your one stop for everything retro games and retro gaming. Featuring the latest classic gaming news around, informative reviews and an ever active forum, you'll feel right at home with other retro gamers.

RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast

Join the RetroCollect Squad as they talk their way through the wonderful world of retro gaming.

Listen to RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast

Join RetroCollect on the web