Retro, Modern & Homebrew Game Reviews

retro game reviews
Modern retro remake game reviews
Brand new homebrew and indie game reviews
Retro hardware and accessories reviews
 

Take RetroCollect's advice and you'll be in gaming heaven. Our team of retro gamers are always busy reviewing the latest retro remakes, homebrew titles for classic systems and even modern titles we consider retro - keeping you in the know about what titles you really need to own.

Indie Review: Luxor Evolved (PC)

Indie-Review-Luxor-Evolved-PC

Just as I had thought the dust had settle on my multi-coloured, vector inspired shape shooting exploits, along comes Luxor Evolved from Mumbo Jumbo to offer more explosions and mayhem, but this is not your average shooter, there is a puzzle game at its heart.

Last Updated ( 12 May 2012 )
 

Retro Review: J. J. Squawkers (Arcade)

Had enough of Mario's turtle-stomping ways? Is the Sonic series just not colourful enough for you? Put your home consoles away- for a very bizarre slice of platform gaming pie, you'd better have a gander at the arcade-only J. J. Squawkers.

Last Updated ( 10 April 2012 )
 

Retro Review: Screamer (PC)

Retro-Review-Screamer-PC

Arcade racing games were not exactly uncommon in the mid 90’s with titles like Ridge Racer and Daytona USA doing the rounds in arcades and various home console ports. However, Screamer was specifically released and designed for the PC, a little unusual as the PC was mainly seen as the home for other genres of gaming than arcade racers.

Last Updated ( 08 April 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Kale In Dinoland (Apple iOS)

Modern-Review-Kale-In-Dinoland-Apple-iOS

On paper, Kale In Dinoland on iOS is a nice – if niche – concept. A loving homage to the black and white Game Boy platformers of the 90’s, it had the potential to rekindle the nostalgia of retro gamers and allow the younger audience to see what they missed out on.

Last Updated ( 18 March 2012 )
 

Modern Review: FireFly Vegas (Xbox 360)

Modern-Review-FireFly-Vegas-Xbox-360

With the demise of Bizarre Creations, I was saddened by the thought that I would never see another Geometry Wars title be created. However, my itch for more frantic twin stick shooting of brightly coloured shapes has been thorough soothed by the XBLA Indie title FireFly Vegas, developed by London based development studio RockMint.

Last Updated ( 16 March 2012 )
 

Retro Review: Atari Flashback 3 Plug 'N' Play Console

fb3

Collecting retro games is what we do, and some of the more dedicated among us are even now scouring eBay for the elusive title to add to the groaning shelves in their back room. But what do you do if you want to play some of the best Atari 2600 games made, don’t want to break the bank, clutter the dining room with boxes but still want an authentic [ … ]

Last Updated ( 23 February 2012 )
 

Indie Review - Fortune Summoners: Secret of the Elemental Stone (PC)

Originally developed by the almost-one-man dev team Lizsoft and released in 2007, Fortune Summoners is the latest game to be translated for Steam and Gamersgate by quirky localisation kings Carpe Fulgur of Recettear fame. Have they brought over another hit?

Last Updated ( 22 February 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Sonic the Hedgehog 4, Episode 1 (PC)

Modern-Review-Sonic-the-Hedgehog-4-Episode-1-PC

Not having the pleasure of owning an iOS device, I jumped at the chance to play Sonic the Hedgehog 4, Episode 1 when it became available on Steam. Having spent several hours with the game, I’m beginning to see what all the fuss was about....

Last Updated ( 04 February 2012 )
 

Retro Review: Alley Cat (Atari 8-Bit Family)

alley_cat_1

Taking a step back in time we revisit the wonderful world of the Atari 8-bit systems by touching upon an unusual platformer with a twist. Featuring just about everything a cat would lose sleep over, it's time for us to face feline problems  by dodging stray shoes and dogs in Alley Cat.

Last Updated ( 26 January 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Choplifter HD Remake (PC and Microsoft Xbox 360)

Modern-Review-Choplifter-HD-Remake-PC-and-Microsoft-Xbox-360

Gamers of a certain vintage will remember a select few games that stand out even if they haven’t played them. Boulderdash, Crystal Castles, Ye Ah Kung Fu, Commando, are a few that leap to mind, Choplifter is another.

Last Updated ( 18 January 2012 )
 

Hands On And First Impressions With The Upcoming Sony PS Vita

While we tend to spend each and every free moment we have with our gaming past, the lure of new hardware is sometimes too much to turn down. With the PS Vita handheld just around the corner, RetroCollect takes a quick break from the pixels to explore the futuristic polygons.

Last Updated ( 05 January 2012 )
 
Page 12 of 18
Banner
Banner

Retro Game Database Search

Retro Gaming Podcast

Join the RetroCollect Squad as they discuss our gaming past in the all new RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast.


Retro Games on eBay now



About RetroCollect

RetroCollect is your one stop for everything retro games and retro gaming. Featuring the latest classic gaming news around, informative reviews and an ever active forum, you'll feel right at home with other retro gamers.

RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast

Join the RetroCollect Squad as they talk their way through the wonderful world of retro gaming.

Listen to RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast

Join RetroCollect on the web