Modern Games & Retro Remake Reviews

Modern Gaming

Modern Review: Retro City Rampage (Wiiware)

Modern-Review-Retro-City-Rampage-Wiiware

Retro City Rampage has finally been released as Nintendo Wiiware’s final swansong. Is the game everything we hoped for or does it fail to deliver?

Last Updated ( 25 March 2013 )
 

Modern Review: Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds (Xbox 360)

It's been a while since RetroCollect's seen some good ol' fashioned fisticuffs, so here comes Phantom Breaker: Battle Grounds for the 360. Cute 2D sprites! Violent fighting action! What more could you want?

Last Updated ( 21 March 2013 )
 

Modern Review - Sega Vintage Collection: ToeJam & Earl

Modern-Review-Sega-Vintage-Collection-Toejam-And-Earl

Although it’s already been available for a little while, SEGA’s latest Sega Vintage Collection seems to have been sadly overlooked by Joe Public. Now we here at RetroCollect can’t let that happen – so we take a slightly belated look at the two classic nineties titles in a bit more detail.

Last Updated ( 21 January 2013 )
 

Modern Review: Double Dragon Neon (PlayStation 3 / Xbox 360)

Modern-Review-Double-Dragon-Neon

Break out your 80s hair, cassette players and sore arcade fingers: Double Dragon is back. But is this revisit to the golden years of beat-‘em-ups worth your time and money?

Last Updated ( 17 October 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Jet Set Willy (Xbox 360 Live Arcade)

jetsetwilly

Manic Miner and the Miner Willy games have wooed their way onto the Spectrum, and now the second iteration of the franchise has been reborn as an Xbox Live Indie title. Plenty has changed for the series with Jet Set Willy, and it made huge advancements on the original home micro. Was it worth the wait to relive this classic title?

Last Updated ( 17 October 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Sinclair ZX Spectrum 100 Greatest Hits HD iOS

Modern-Review-Sinclair-ZX-Spectrum-100-Greatest-Hits-HD-iOS

When I was at school all those years ago, the biggest debate that raged in my circle had nothing to do with football, but everything to do with the Spectrum or C64. Fast forward to today, can all the disputation in the past be settled with an iPad application?

Last Updated ( 18 July 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Robin Hood: The Legend Of Sherwood (PC / Mac)

modern-review-robin-hood-the-legend-of-sherwood-pc--mac

It's late on a Saturday night, I am sitting here wearing a strange hat, green tights and posturing round the room like Lord Flash Heart from Blackadder, nope this is not a strange fetish of mine, but I am pretending to be Robin Hood. Join me as I play through the classic PC game Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood.

Last Updated ( 09 July 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Manic Miner (Xbox 360 Live Arcade)

Modern-Review-Manic-Miner-Xbox-360-Live-Arcade

The ZX Spectrum classic which defined the cassette tape generation, Manic Miner, has recently been released on Xbox Live Arcade under the independent section. But how does the updated port stack up to the original ZX Spectrum version?

Last Updated ( 09 July 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Road Blaster (Apple iOS Devices)

"You all know about the gangs busting up the city? Geez, I wish someone would blast them..." Only the Road Blaster can clean up the streets, in this arcade iPhone port that actually suits the platform!

Last Updated ( 04 July 2012 )
 

Modern Review: Kale In Dinoland (Apple iOS)

Modern-Review-Kale-In-Dinoland-Apple-iOS

On paper, Kale In Dinoland on iOS is a nice – if niche – concept. A loving homage to the black and white Game Boy platformers of the 90’s, it had the potential to rekindle the nostalgia of retro gamers and allow the younger audience to see what they missed out on.

Last Updated ( 18 March 2012 )
 

Modern Review: FireFly Vegas (Xbox 360)

Modern-Review-FireFly-Vegas-Xbox-360

With the demise of Bizarre Creations, I was saddened by the thought that I would never see another Geometry Wars title be created. However, my itch for more frantic twin stick shooting of brightly coloured shapes has been thorough soothed by the XBLA Indie title FireFly Vegas, developed by London based development studio RockMint.

Last Updated ( 16 March 2012 )
 
Page 4 of 6
Banner
Banner

Retro Game Database Search

Retro Gaming Podcast

Join the RetroCollect Squad as they discuss our gaming past in the all new RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast.


Retro Games on eBay now



About RetroCollect

RetroCollect is your one stop for everything retro games and retro gaming. Featuring the latest classic gaming news around, informative reviews and an ever active forum, you'll feel right at home with other retro gamers.

RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast

Join the RetroCollect Squad as they talk their way through the wonderful world of retro gaming.

Listen to RetroCollect FM - Retro Gaming Podcast

Join RetroCollect on the web